The Biggest Loser Challenge: My PBL journey Volume 1

Well, I’ve taken the first step in my PBL journey. After toying with it for a while and watching tweets fly between Bianca Hewes and Dean Groom, I’ve finally decided to take the plunge. As I looked at a teaching programme we’ve been using for a few years now with year 9, I realised it was becoming a little tired, I realised it needed to change.

I put a call out to a few of my twitter PLN for a driving question for my project. @BenPaddleJones came up with “How will you ensure you never end up on the biggest loser”. Considering the Australian series has just finished, it struck a chord. The number one issue of faced is time – it’s been hectic to get this thing of the ground because from the time I started planning it, to when I intended to teach it was only 24hrs!! Ridiculous. Anyway, after a quick chat with Bianca only 2 hrs before kick off, I managed to buy myself 48hrs – which brings me to now. What a whirlwind that conversation was! She explained how the hook lesson will work, how to do circle time, how to set up my groups and started me thinking about the possibility of using a narrative and that I could ‘gamify’ my unit. Wow, so much to do but it certainly got me excited at the possibilities starting to build for this unit. (I think I may have frightened my faculty a little with my enthusiasm!)

I went with a narrative that the TV channel that runs the program is after a team of health experts to create a plan for educating school aged children on healthy living. Students will be put into groups to create a research investigation of the syllabus information, create a presentation and will finally present their plan to a panel of experts (their classmates, PE teachers and hopefully a personal trainer or health professional).

Tomorrow is ‘D’ day for delivery and explaining it to the class. BUT, there’s still time to improve. I’d love you to have a look at what I’ve come up with so far and leave me some feedback on ideas that I might be able to implement. You can check out the document below.

I must finish by giving credit to The Molistic View’s willingness to share his experiences and his project through his blog. It’s given me plenty of ideas as well as an idea of what to expect. Thanks.

One thought on “The Biggest Loser Challenge: My PBL journey Volume 1

  1. Ive done something similar before. I specified what “experts” were required. Each group required 3-4 experts. For example:
    GP – that would outline the health risks associated with being obese.
    Dietitian – to educate on a health diet using the Australian Guide to Healthy Eating
    Personal Trainer – that would have to learn the FITT principle or principles of training and design a training program.
    Person with Obesity – would create a profile including available time for training, food diary for 7 days, exercise diary (including incidental), work requirements. This person could also add up to kj consumed vs total kj expended.
    Each student would need to present to the class their findings.

Leave a Reply

